Home > > Hydrogen News > Press Area > DOE

Secretary of Energy Appoints Hydrogen Technical Advisory Committee

June 20, 2006

WASHINGTON, DC – Secretary of Energy Samuel W. Bodman today announced the members of the Department of Energy’s (DOE) new Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technical Advisory Committee (HTAC).  Formed in accordance with the Energy Policy Act of 2005 (EPACT), HTAC will advise the Secretary on issues related to the development of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies, a key component of President Bush’s Advanced Energy Initiative (AEI).  Committee members were selected from more than 100 nominees submitted in response to a Federal Register Notice.  HTAC will give recommendations to the Secretary regarding DOE's programs, plans, and activities, as well as safety, economic, and environmental issues related to hydrogen. 

“Research, development and deployment of hydrogen is central to President Bush’s Advanced Energy Initiative,” Secretary Bodman said.  “Receiving candid advice from this committee is one of the many ways we are working to meet the President’s goal of moving toward a hydrogen economy and reducing our dependence on foreign sources of oil.” 

Hydrogen is key to DOE’s long-term energy and environmental security strategy, is an integral part of the AEI, and supports a robust technology portfolio.  Under the AEI, President Bush’s FY 2007 budget requests $215 million for hydrogen research and development, a 55 percent increase from 2006.  For more information on the AEI visit: http://www.whitehouse.gov/stateoftheunion/2006/energy/index.html.

Following EPACT 2005 guidelines, DOE will deliver a biennial report to Congress describing committee recommendations, how DOE will implement those recommendations, as well as a rationale for recommendations that might not be implemented.

The 25 selected members comprise a balanced committee of both technical expertise and stakeholder viewpoints.  HTAC membership includes representatives of domestic industry, academia, professional societies, government agencies, financial organizations and environmental groups, as well as experts in the area of hydrogen safety.  Members will elect a chairperson at their first meeting to be held in the coming months and will meet approximately twice per year.  Meetings will be announced in the Federal Register.                                                                      


Membership of Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technical Advisory Committee




Larry Bawden

Jadoo Power Systems

President & CEO

John Bresland

U. S. Chemical Safety Board

Board Member

Mark Chernoby     

DaimlerChrysler Corp.  

V.P., Advanced Vehicle Engineering

Uma Chowdhry


Director of Engineering Technology

Millie Dresselhaus



David Friedman 

Union of Concerned Scientists

Research Director Clean Vehicles      

John Hofmeister

Shell Oil Company

President & U.S. Country Chair

Art Katsaros

Air Products & Chemicals Inc.

Group V.P., Development & Technology

Dan Keuter     

Entergy Nuclear

Vice President

Alan Lloyd

California EPA (retired)

Former Secretary of California EPA

Byron McCormick

General Motors

Executive Director of Fuel Cell Activities

Mike Mudd               

FutureGen Alliance

Chief Executive Officer

Rand Napoli    

Florida State Fire Marshal


Ian Purtle

Cargill, Inc.

Corp. V.P. & Director of Process Solutions

Michael Ramage


Executive Advisor

James Reinsch

Bechtel Power

Senior Vice President

Gerry Richmond

University of Oregon

Noyes Professor of Chemistry

Roger Saillant  

Plug Power

President & CEO

Robert Shaw

Arete Corporation


Kathleen Taylor

General Motors (retired)

Director of Materials & Processes Lab

Jan van Dokkum  

UTC Power


J. Craig Venter

J. Craig Venter Institute

Founder and President

Gregory Vesey

ChevronTechnology Ventures


Robert Walker  

Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates    


John Wootten

Peabody Energy (retired)

V.P. of Environment and Technology

*To learn more about the hydrogen program, visit: Hydrogen.energy.gov.

HTAC terms vary from one to three years.  Approximately a third of the membership will turnover each year, which will give other candidates an opportunity to serve in the coming years and to provide their input and expertise.


The information on this page was created by the company identified above. Hydrogen Now! does not endorse or substantiate this information and assumes no obligation for this content's accuracy.

Copyright © 2002
Hydrogen Now!